Indonesia’s Visa-Free Policy Brings 6.9 Million Tourists

Visa to Indonesia

Indonesia’s Visa-Free Policy Brings 6.9 Million Tourists

6.9 million tourists visited Indonesia since the implementation of the visa-free policy for citizens of 169 countries. According to Heru Santoso, Immigration Directorate General, 4,095,264 of the foreigners were from 15 countries with reciprocal agreements with Indonesia. The other 2,881,945 from 144 countries were not.

“The figure is still far from our target of 20 million [foreign] tourists per year, but I believe the number will increase in the future,” he said as quoted by

Heru also said 10 countries had not visited Indonesia despite the implementation of a free-visa policy, namely Antigua and Barbuda, Burundi, the Czech Republic, Gabon, Haiti, the Marshall Islands, Kiribati, Lesotho, Puerto Rico and Saint Lucia.

“I think the promotion campaign still needs to be intensified,” he added.

First introduced in June last year, the policy initially allows visitors from 45 countries to stay within the country for 30 days for tourism purposes using a free tourist visa. This permit can only be obtained from nine entry points consisting of international airports and seaports across the country. In March, 84 more countries were added to the list, bringing up to 174 the total number of countries included within the policy.

According to data from the Tourism Ministry, the number of tourist arrivals at 19 entry points in Indonesia reached 10,406,759 last year, an increase of 10.29 percent from 2014.